Socialize on Social? Now There’s a Novel Idea

Social Media; Do you engage?

Do you take the time to socialize on social media or are you too busy social marketing?

Do you think it’s possible that if you just “get social” and have some fun, results will follow? That posting good content and conversing with others results will follow? Isn’t growing social media relationships the goal? Aren’t enjoyment and engagement the original purpose of social media? As people get to know each other through engagement does credibility & trust naturally develop? If you have what they need won’t you be first to come to mind?

That engaging with like-minded people and developing genuine relationships is in fact a good business practice.

This is especially true for smaller “solopreneur” type businesses because owners are usually quite passionate about their niche. More than likely, they have a personal interest in common with their customers.

Have fun with social media engagement!

I happen to enjoy being creative when it comes to social media content. I put a lot of effort into it. I’m an artist with paints, apps & words. Taking photos, making pic collages, putting together amateur videos, even playing around with screenshots. Making Instaboomerangs and time lapse videos, oh my. I fancy myself a wordsmith too and yes, the thesaurus in Word is a good buddy of mine. One that I visit with frequently.

That’s it! Making content! I need to get back to what makes social media fun. It’s what drew me to social marketing in the first place. I was having fun and having fun is key to happiness.

So caught up in achieving numbers, I was teasing myself with the promise of some fun time. I totally lost track of the why. I started tweeting because it’s fun. I love fiddling around with different photo apps and putting funky collages together for Instaposts and that’s ok!

Note to selfย  ๐Ÿ‘‰ hop over and revise number two of #SOS2017 to Create More Quality Content.

Mind you, I most certainly did not forget about how much fun socializing is ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

Genuinely nice feedback on social media feels good.

I love talking to people on the web and off. Engaging with people on social media is fun. I like to initiate conversations and I enjoy joining in. I like commenting aweeeee when I see a really cute pic or eeeeeek if it’s creepy.

I click the link to read the blog post and take the time to share my opinion if it was interesting.

Social Media is about Engaging. In face engagement is the objective.
Reach out & Genuinely Compliment

I work hard creating content and when somebody takes the time to leave a relevant comment on it, it makes my day. So, I in turn like to do the same. I press a lot of likes and repost quality social media posts. Both true but, I take time contemplating my comments. I want them to be a genuine reaction to what attracted me into clicking on the post, regardless of the social media platform.

These are just two of the reasons that I am building my career within this spectrum they call social marketing.

Which brings me to the conclusion that I need to go back and slightly alter my number two…. #SOS2017 article.

Leave a Reply

